What is a Certified Water Specialist?

wqa logo

A Certified Water Specialist (CWS) has been certified by the Water Quality Association in helping consumers identify individuals in the point-of-use/point-of-entry water quality improvement industry who have demonstrated a certified level of professional expertise and are dedicated to high professional standards.

To achieve any WQA-certified title (CWS, CI, CSR), a person must pass a   lengthy exam, agree to abide by the WQA Code of Ethics for the Water Quality   Improvement Industry and commit to ongoing education to maintain certification.

There are six levels to the CWS program, and the prior level must be completed before advancing to the next level.

CWS-I  •   CWS-II  •   CWS-III  •   CWS-IV  •   CWS-V  •   CWS-VI


Level Requirements/Issues:



  1. Water Treatment Fundamentals
  2. Water Processing for Residential, Commercial, & Light-Industrial Applications
  3. Legal Considerations
  4. Hazard Communications
  5. Water Chemistry Terms and Definitions
  6. Must Sign and Abide by the WQA Code of Ethics


  1. Water Filtration for Point-Of-Use (POU) Applications


  1. Reverse Osmosis for Point-Of-Use Applications
  2. Ultrafiltration for the Water Improvement Industry


  1. Guidelines for Disinfection & Sanitation
  2. Study of Microorganisms
  3. Additional Water Processing for Residential, Commercial, & Light-Industrial Applications


  1. Ozonation Applications


  1. Dionization Basics


FaLang translation system by Faboba